I’ll Buy That…and that….and that…

I love on-line technology generally.  Here’s why…

When I started quilting about a lifetime ago (could it be possibly 20+ years ago? Yikes, OMG etc.), I lived in a big city in Alberta.  Back in the day, it was easy as pie to go to about a gazillion fabric shops within a few minutes drive from my home.   I got into a lovely groove… which involved purchasing a quilting magazine at the grocery store and then hi-tailing it off to the high end quilt stores all around me.  I especially loved Lori’s Country Cottage in Sherwood Park where everyone knew my name. (LOL,  I’m having a Norm from “Cheers” moment).

Then, hubby and I retired, packed our bags and all our belongings, and left Alberta to realize our retirement dreams on teeny tiny, itsy-bitsy Prince Edward Island–a little over 3 years ago.  Suddenly BOOM! my quilting world imploded.  Imagine my distress to find there are exactly 3 specialty quilt shops in the whole province; and no FabricLand franchises, or Marshall Fabrics or anywhere else with a good selection of quilting fabric at a reasonable (or exorbitant, for that matter) price.  I was devastated, disenchanted and discouraged.  It was a seriously bleak time….please excuse me, I do have a tendency to be a drama queen. But I’m sure you get my point.   Holy Heck Hanna what would I do?

Well, I started spending time on-line, where to my wonderment, there was a huge, borderless, universal quilting community. They didn’t know or care where I lived; they were willing and delighted to share their ahhhsome creations and I started to feel better.  Before too long, I decided to join in.  I quickly learned to post pics of my quilts to Instagram and Facebook and started reading blogs.  Then one day I clicked on a link to a wonderful wonderful place called Pink Castle Fabrics…OMG OMG OMG, there really was more fabric in the universe then I could imagine.  Beautiful traditional fabrics, modern low volume fabrics; text and texture fabrics; animal and vegetable fabrics….you see where I’m going with this right.

Well before you could say “Honey I’m Home”,  I whipped out my magic Visa card and started shopping.  Now a short lifetime later and I’m still going strong.  I love love love this new cyber world I’m living in.  I could never have imagined just 10 years ago that I could  purchase fabrics or patterns from anywhere in the world and have it delivered right to my door within 10 days.  I am a cyber citizen of the world; it doesn’t matter to me if my fabric originates from Canada, USA or Australia.  (Although to be honest, it does matter to hubby…he’d much prefer if I reined myself in a tiny bit and confined my on-line shopping to continental North America…he’s kinda old-school that way).

These beauties came by USPS or UPS just last week…Sigh, I am SO in my happy place!

 

What or where is your favourite fabric store?  And, do you buy FQs or bundles or yardage?  Leave me a comment…I’m always looking for fabulous new places to buy fabric.

Author: quiltgranny

I am a quilter, a wife, a mom and grandma. I live here on beautiful Prince Edward Island, Canada. Life is good.

8 thoughts on “I’ll Buy That…and that….and that…”

  1. Fortunately I have plenty of quilt making supply shops in my little corner of England. I started off buying fat quarters then moved to buying metres but have recently gone back to fat/long quarters for specific projects. Your recent purchases are lovely x

    Like

  2. I live in England and the only quilting shop I used to physically go to is closing on Saturday😢 But, I am a real techie, even at my age, and I have been buying over the net for 20 years. It used to be cross stitch stuff but now it’s fabric. I love the internet. I learned how to quilt thanks to Craftsy and You Tube. I’m a grandma of 4 and they range in ages from 17 down to 5. Patricia x

    Like

  3. Good Morning,
    I am in Wisconsin (although cruising to your neck of the woods next summer) and we have a fair amount of fabric stores near us. I do a lot of online shopping at Missouri Star Quilt Co, especially their daily special. I have purchased some items from Craftsy, the Fat Quarter Shop, and Green Fairy Quilts. The internet is a wonderful thing, bringing all of us closer even though we live a distance apart. ~smile~ Roseanne

    Like

  4. 25 years ago I had a similar experience when moving from Oregon to Wyoming (where distance is expressed in hours not miles). In Oregon I viewed a trip to Portland (90 minutes away) as a day trip and planned out several quilts’ worth of fabric to purchase. Now I think nothing of “hopping” 90 miles away to pick up a quarter yard and my day trips are the 3-hour drive to Salt Lake. With the arrival of online shopping, Missouri Star became my LQS and I discovered the joy of searching thousands of little shops for that one out-of-print yard I needed to finish a project. I still have to walk into my local shop, Keama’s Quilts, to get my fabric fix.
    I absolutely LOVE precuts! No small fabric shop would be able to carry a whole designer line. I regularly purchase fat quarter packs, layer cakes and charms.

    Like

  5. I am in England too, for years I shopped at my two local shops but they were both strongly traditional, I knew little about modern fabrics and was wary to forage online. Now it’s a different story, I have found several online shops with the most wonderful fabrics, I’m like a pig in muck.

    Like

  6. I shop on line a lot too. I live in Michigan and I go to several retreats every year. Right now, I am working on my 2nd Garden Party by Laura Heine. I also have purchased the dots you have. I have 2 sets of them. Can never have enough dots. I just received the gypsy wife pattern in the mail and really want to begin but I am afraid….. I am on a gypsy wife page on Facebook and when I see all the beautiful squares It adds to my angst.. Soon, I’ll just jump in. Deb

    Like

  7. Jump in, or better yet dive in….you have a whole community of Gypsy wives to support you. This quilt is not really difficult, some of the blocks are a bit technical, but seriously compared with many blocks they are very doable. Several friends of mine are working through this…it’s only week 3. I’d love to add you to my list of buddies.

    Like

Leave a Reply

