Its Magic and Wizardry…or maybe its Pinterest

I am pretty sure I didn’t exist before I discovered Pinterest.  I’m serious. I love it that I can click on that magical red and white “P” icon and open a window into the world that didn’t even exist 10 short years ago.  Holy OMG how is it possible? How is any of this wizardry possible? Who on earth imagines up a place where a person like me can share a photo or a story or any other thing that I think is beautiful, or unique, or funny, or sad or amazing, with the whole world. And…I can peek into the universe of a gazillion other people living here on this little blue dot.  Sometimes I just have to shake my head in wonderment…but there you go I’m distracted already.

Lets start again.  I LOVE LOVE LOVE PINTEREST.   I love creating Pins and Boards as much as I love my dogs, Tigg and Theo. And that my friends is a wholeheckofalot.  Right now, I have approximately 40 Boards where I regularly pin articles and photos that catch my eye or capture my fancy or make me think, or wish, or hope, or plan.  Naturally many of my Boards revolve around quilts and quilting.  I have Boards dedicated to modern quilts, modern quilt patterns, traditional quilts, mini-quilts, wool appliqué quilts, quilt patterns, quilt borders, medallion quilts, round robin quilts etc. etc. etc. Its endless, its fabulous, its wonderful and I cannot imagine a world without Pinterest.

So having professed my love for Pinterest twice now, I’m happy to share some of my favourite boards/pins/walls created by some fabulous people…some famous, some famous only to me or the people who love them. Here we go….in no particular order.

Kaffe Fassett  I recently finished a quilt top using only fabrics by this designer.  I spent many hours looking here for inspiration before I could allow myself cut into those beautiful FQs. In the end I chose to make a variation of a “drunkards path” block, which I call “Clambake with Kaffe”.  Click  here to see the blocks I considered on my Pinterest Board and then click  here to go to my Instagram Account to see a pic. of my finished top.

Laila Nelson – She lives in beautiful BC Canada and she is part of an online quilt party (Patchwork City) that I’m a member of.  She creates seriously stunning quilt blocks that are a feast to my eyes and I get to see her work every month.  You should definitely check out her boards and pins.  That woman has an eye for colours/patterns like nobody I’ve ever known.  If you want to see some of her works that I’ve collected, check out My Patchwork City Board here.

Rachel Hauser.  I follow her blog too.  IMHO she is a very inspirational woman who has learned the very difficult art of balancing her personal life, business, family and faith, while still finding a way with every post to provoke some type of emotion.  Seriously you should check this out.

Alison Glass.  Seriously, do I need to say anything else?  Well, perhaps this:

Carolyn Friedlander or maybe this.

Libs Elliott, A Canadian designer that will knock your socks off.

So there you go, a quick glimpse of my Pinterest world.  Here is the icon, should you possibly be living somewhere in a different universe where Pinterest has not yet landed. Hahahah, possibly Mars or Pluto…

Lets all do something creative today.

 

 

 

 

Author: quiltgranny

I am a quilter, a wife, a mom and grandma. I live here on beautiful Prince Edward Island, Canada. Life is good.

5 thoughts on “Its Magic and Wizardry…or maybe its Pinterest”

  1. Now you’ve done it……gave me even more projects to dream about. 🙂 I love Pinterest. There, I am not afraid to say it. On my Pinterest page I have, “I hope I live long enough to complete all my Pinterest posts” At this point, if I don’t add anymore posts, I need to live to 627 years. Thanks for the links.

    Like

  2. Love your finish Velda and I orobably do not take advantage of Pinterest like I should! Thanks for sharing your boards!

    Like

  3. I do enjoy a bit of Pinterest every evening. However since I have been Pinterest-ing my projects have grown and because I am spending my evenings virtually, the act of sewing/quilting has suffered. But there is so much eye candy out there, and you can reference it so easily!

    Like

  4. I have to agree on wondering who can even imagine Pinterest to create it?! I love P, too and can easily spend hours looking at quilt patterns, pictures, blocks – not to mention anything else I can think of. What a fun post! ~smile~ Roseanne

    Like

  5. I love Pinterest! I don’t know how I ever survived without it. It is my go to whenever I’m stuck for creative combinations or ideas. I spend hours on there!

    Like

Comments are closed.