Is it a Cookie? or a Candy?

image

When Stefanie (best daughter ever!) was still my itty bitty princess, she loved to help me bake Christmas cookies and  in those days we made lots.  There were cookies for teachers, cookies for classmates, cookies for figure skating, cookies for the Christmas concert, cookies for girl guides etc., etc. Our list was humungous.    I remember years when we made and distributed more than 40 dozen cookies in the week before Christmas Eve.  Stefanie is of course grown and flown from the nest a long time ago and now she and Jessica (best grand-daughter ever) are continuing their own cookie baking tradition out in Calgary, Alberta.   We still FaceTime every day in December to share their cookie successes and the occasional cookie disaster!  And every year we try to come up with some new receipes to go along with the old favourites. So, naturally  I am delighted to take part in this virtual cookie exchange and share your recipes with my girls.

Here is the list of folks who are participating this year.  If you haven’t already done so, you should go see all the delicious, beautiful cookies on display in their kitchens. But don’t forget to come back and get my recipe.

December 5

Just Let Me Quilt – Giveaway

Tu-Na Quilts, Travels, and Eats

Kris Loves Fabric

December 6

Creatin’ in the Sticks

Brenda’s Quilting Blog

Bumbleberry Stitches

December 7

What’s Up With Kim

Granny Can Quilt – yippee that’s me

Rosemary’s Recipe – posted at Just Let Me Quilt

December 8

Deb’s Rustic Quilting

Treasured Nest

Just Let Me Quilt

I’m so glad you’re back.  Is this month absolutely crazy busy at your house?  Holy Heck Hermione, I often wonder how we get it all done in time for Santa to make it down the chimney.  One thing I decided to do was to forego my mix master and measuring cups this winter and make simple no bake goodies whenever possible.

So here is a recipe for Pretzel Hugs. I think it would be perfect to make with the kids/grandkids, or perhaps let the kids make themselves…with just a tiny bit of help from you getting the baking sheet into and out of the oven.

These things are so EZeePZee to make and they look adorable on a plate of Christmas dainties (if they even make it to the plate).  Ingredients are square pretzels, M&Ms (peanut or regular), and Hershey’s Hugs.

IMG_2871.jpg

You’ll also need a cookie sheet and parchment paper (I used aluminum foil because there was only a tiny little piece of parchment paper left on the roll).  Either one will work just fine.

Cover the cookie sheet with the foil and place single layer of pretzels on top.  Noboby will notice or hold it against you if you nibble on the broken bits as you go along.  Top each pretzel with one (unwrapped) Hershey Hug.  Check them out…Aren’t they adorable already?  Wait, they get even cuter!

IMG_2875.jpg

Pop them into an oven pre-heated to 200 degrees for a few minutes.  Four minutes should be perfect.  All you are doing is warming the Hugs.

IMG_2879.jpg

When they are warmed up, take them out of the oven and press an M&M into the centre of each one to flatten it. And that my friends is it.  They are done.

 

IMG_2885.jpg
OMG they are just cute as a button and took no more than 10 minutes to make….and most of that was unwrapping the Hugs!  So there you have it, salty sweet perfection.

Oh yeah you should probably put them in the fridge for a few minutes to harden them up again and then put them away in the freezer so your husband cannot get into them until a few days closer to Christmas. Just Sayin.

Thanks for dropping by.  Let me know if your family loves them as much as we do.

 

Author: quiltgranny

I am a quilter, a wife, a mom and grandma. I live here on beautiful Prince Edward Island, Canada. Life is good.

12 thoughts on “Is it a Cookie? or a Candy?”

  1. These adorable treats are now on my list of must-makes. That I can make them and they are easy, plus I can make them early and freeze them…love it! Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  2. I enjoyed reading about your baking days with your daughter. My daughter
    My mom and my niece would come out to the farm and we would bake all day and make cookie trays for neighbors. We still do this but now I have grandsons and live in the city. So happy my boys want to cook! They will love making your pretzel hugs this year!

    Like

  3. My 17 yr old son brought some to school for his class mates, he said they disappeared quickly. What we still had at home he finished by the next day. Thanks for the very tasty and quick recipe. Merry!Merry! Toni Anne ;->

    Like

Comments are closed.