Katy Lucy, the Quilt

This post is my entry into the Large quilt section of the  Bloggers Quilt Festival – Fall 2016 being hosted by Amy Ellis of AmysCreativeSide.  I call her Katy Lucy because she is going to be gifted to my lovely niece, Katy Lucy B on her big birthday at the end of October.


Yikes…where do I begin with this quilt…its massive (for me at least). It was inspired by Jen Kingwell’s Avatrix Medallion quilt.  Actually I purchased the pattern and made the whole quilt with some modifications, of course…and at the very end just before I sent it off to be quilted by the amazing Liz Dempsey at Blueberry Cove Quilting Studio,  I decided I didn’t like the way the centre medallion looked, so took it out and replaced it with this nested churn dash.  I also changed one of the borders because I just hate making templates (which was required for the outside border row) and since I  loooooove pinwheels, I decided to change up the pattern.  This is one of my favourite pictures of the blocks before they got sewn into that row.  If you click on the menu above, you can see the picto-toot I developed to make that process easier.  There are almost a gazillion pinwheels in that quilt.IMG_1305

This quilt was determined not to be finished for a long time.  I posted about it once when I realized it was lost in the infamous WIP cupboard, and again here when I was found it and started working on it again.

This quilt made an appearance at the Dundas Plowing Match in Dundas PEI in August, where it won itself a blue 2nd place ribbon.  I am quite proud of her (and of her namesake too for that matter).  I hope you like her as much as I do.

Author: quiltgranny

I am a quilter, a wife, a mom and grandma. I live here on beautiful Prince Edward Island, Canada. Life is good.

5 thoughts on “Katy Lucy, the Quilt”

Comments are closed.