Berry Fields – my first block design.

It’s my turn to share the block I made for the Cloud Nine New Block Blog Hop.  And, of course, I wrote a picto-toot to go with it.  Holy O My Goodness.  Who’dathought I could do that.  Should you want to make this block, you will find the some handy-dandy details below.

First let me say I am completely blown away by the blocks that yesterday’s bloggers posted. I feel so lucky to be part of this blog hop and so excited to see all these lovely blocks.

Second, let me say, I tried to make sure that this block was never published before.  As you know, that in itself is a very difficult thing because there are so many quilt designer/bloggers out there.  Lets face it folks, it is not at all that outside the realm of possibility that someone thought of this block layout before me.

Third, please know that if I did design a block that’s already out there in the world with someone’s copyright attached to it, I didn’t do it on purpose…I did a Google Image search and checked Pinterest five ways to Sunday to cover my bases.  And…if you (who own the block pattern) will contact me, I’ll definitely make sure that you, not me, get all the credit for this very cool block.

So with no further ado, here we go.

“Berry Fields” – A Block Picto-toot

Cut the following pieces for one  12 1/2″ (unfinished) block. This block is put together in sections.  Just follow the instructions on the pics and before you know it, you’ll be done.

IMG_2231

Set out pieces for Section 1 and sew as described on the picture

img_2245

Press seams in this section to the right…

img_2246

Then lay out pieces for Section 2 and sew together as follows:

img_2244

img_2247

Press seams in this section to the left…

Use the remaining pieces to lay out Section 3 and sew together as instructed

img_2248

IMG_2252

Press seams in this section to the right…

All that’s left to do is lay out the 3 sections and admire your gawjeus block.

IMG_2249

Sew the 3 rows together as instructed on the picture and – Holy heck Hermione – you’re finished and its a beautiful block!

img_2243

  “Berry Fields”

by

grannycanquilt.wordpress.com

That wasn’t hard at all was it?

PS:  If you were so inclined, you could make a whole bunch of these blocks and create a quilt.  Give each block a quarter turn and you will get lots of excitement and motion in the quilt top and a cool secondary pattern that will appear just like magic where the coloured rectangles in the corners come together.  Try it and see…

Now you should definitely go check out all the ahhhmazing blocks made by the others in this blog hop.

Today’s Group (not including me)

Host: Cheryl @Meadow Mist Designs

Miranda @I Have Purple Hair
Jennifer @The Inquiring Quilter
Sarah @123 Quilt
Leanne @Devoted Quilter
Jen @Patterns By Jen
Jennifer @RV Quilting
Amanda @Quiltologie
Sharon @Yellow Cat Quilt Designs
Jen @A Dream and A Stitch
Jen @Faith and Fabric
Carole @Carole Lyles Shaw
Stephanie @Quilt’n Party
Susan @Sevenoaks Street Quilts
Katrin @Now What Puppilalla
Amista @Hilltop Custom Designs
Nicole @Handwrought Quilts
Marla @Penny Lane Quilts
Silvia @A Stranger View
Sarah @Smiles Too Loudly
Carrie @the zen quilter
Mary @Quilting is in My Blood

Yesterday’s Group

Host: Yvonne @Quilting Jetgirl

Abigail @Cut & Alter
Janice @Color, Creating, and Quilting!
Lorinda @Laurel, Poppy, and Pine
Melva @Melva Loves Scraps
Renee @Quilts of a Feather
Kathryn @Upitis Quilts
Kim @Leland Ave Studios
Amanda @this mom quilts
Holly @Lighthouse Lane Designs
Irene @Patchwork and Pastry
Jennifer @Dizzy Quilter
Karen @Tu-Na Quilts, Travels, and Eats
Anne @Said With Love
Suzy @Adventurous Applique and Quilting
Sharla @Thistle Thicket Studio
Kathleen @Smiles From Kate
Amanda @Gypsy Moon Quilt Co.
Sarah @Sarah Goer Quilts
Chelsea @Patch the Giraffe
Jinger @Trials of a Newbie Quilter
Anja @Anja Quilts
Daisy @Ants to Sugar

Tomorrow’s Group

Host: Stephanie @Late Night Quilter

Kathy @Kathys Kwilts and More
Paige @Quilted Blooms
Mary @Strip Quilts Pass it On
Allison @Woodberry Way
Seven @The Concerned Craft
Olusola @Alice Samuel’s Quilt Co.
Ann @Brown Paws Quilting
Jodie @Persimmon + Pear
Vicki @Orchid Owl Quilts
Kitty @Night Quilter
Francine @Mochawildchild
Shelley @The Carpenter’s Daughter who Quilts
Jayne @Twiggy and Opal
Geraldine @Living Water Quilter
Shannon @Shannon Fraser Designs
Lisa @Sunlight In Winter Quilts
Jessica @Quilty Habit
Cassandra @The (not so) Dramatic Life
Deanna @Stitches Quilting
Denise @Craft Traditions

Trust me, you will be blown away by the ahhhmazing blocks this group has dreamed…and drafted…up.

Thank you so much to Cloud Nine fabrics for providing this beautiful fabric.  Thanks to our hosts and to everyone who supported me while I was putting the idea for this block together.

 

Author: quiltgranny

I am a quilter, a wife, a mom and grandma. I live here on beautiful Prince Edward Island, Canada. Life is good.

30 thoughts on “Berry Fields – my first block design.”

  1. Well, what a cute block. I would actually like to see a few of these put together – I think you will find a neat secondary design happening there. It’s very modern and clean looking, which always appeals to me. I think you have a winner. (I appreciate your trying to make sure the block hasn’t been made before, but really that would be nearly impossible to know. If it came from you, it came from you, and even if something similar has been done, you didn’t “use” it, so in my mind, it’s an original design, period. And a darn good one!

    Like

  2. You did such a great job on your block and tutorial! This block has a lot of potential. I’m thinking up lots of possibilities now!

    Like

  3. I really live your block! It would be very interested to make a bunch of these and play with the layout. Great job with the block and with the tutorial!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Very nice block!! I bet a quilt of these would make a great secondary pattern. I think I’ll draw it out on graph paper. Thanks for the tutorial. Job well-done, Velda! I have a new appreciation for pattern designers now that I’ve completed my first block too for this hop. Who would have thought even 6 months ago that we’d be designing a quilt block? Karen

    Like

Comments are closed.