Are you going to Scarborough Fair?

I’m not…but I did go to a country fair in the little village of Crapaud here on PEI this weekend.

O my gracious Glenda,  it was great! There were “cats and rats and elephants” on display (well, OK, not those actual animals, but there were cows, calves, rabbits galore, sheep, donkeys and so much more).  Country fairs are one of the very real, wonderful things about living a simple lifestyle.  Every summer all over PEI (and probably where you live too), villages are putting their best stuff on display.  For some folks, its veggies and farm critters, for others, (me included), its baked goods and quilts.    Its all about community and country living and I’m so thrilled to be part of it.

Now I get to brag a bit.

IwonIwonIwon.  Holy Heck Hermione. IwonIwonIwon.  Yes, I actually won first place for my quilt.  Here is the proof.  I’m very proud of this win, because there are a lot of really amazing quilters here on PEI and there were lots of beautiful things on display.  This cuddle sized quilt was the subject of a previous post of mine here and was featured on my Instagram feed on more than one occasion when I was trying to decide how to set the blocks.  I also took many many pictures of the critters I appliquéd into the setting squares, when I was working my way through that portion. You can click on the Instagram button on my sidebar and see all the pictures at your leisure, or not at all, totally up to you, no pressure.

 

IMG_2165.jpg

But FYI, that was not all I won, Nosiree Bob, it was not.  I amazingly, astoundingly, unbelievably collected a  first place prize for my white bread and second place for my raisin bread (BTW, my mom who is well into her 80s, took second place for her white bread, and first place for her raisin bread – I am very proud of my mom and her bread recipe…clearly both are winners) and….I got a second prize win for my shortbread cookies (here on PEI, we call them Scotch Cookies – don’t ask me why, because I really don’t know).

So all in all it was a very good weekend.  I’m feeling pretty dang fine.  But, the most fabulously wonderful thing about the weekend is that I got my first e-mail instructions for the patchwork city QAL I’m starting with members of my PEIMQG and others all over Canada.  Its gonna be great and scary and terrifying and hard and overwhelming and wonderful.  Trust me you will be seeing lots of posts about this in the next 8 months or so.

O and if anyone is on the Island towards the end of August and feels a need for a decadent dessert, come see me and I’ll hook you up with a ticket or two for our PEIMQG’s first ever “Time out with Textiles” show and dessert party.

Have yourselves an awesomely creative day.

Author: quiltgranny

I am a quilter, a wife, a mom and grandma. I live here on beautiful Prince Edward Island, Canada. Life is good.

9 thoughts on “Are you going to Scarborough Fair?”

  1. Congratulations and what fun! I love country fairs, but have never been quite brave enough to show my stuff. So, I’ll gleefully remain a closet quilter (not really) and share the goodness with quilty friends. I too, got the first instalment of Patchwork City and am trés, trés excited. Now to decide which final design, what colors … and … oh, have to go fondle fabric. Love the blog.

    Like

  2. Thanks so much. Wish I knew who you are. I’m forcing myself not to start the QAL until after we get back from NB next week. Today I’m forcing myself to work on my Splendid Sampler. Not liking either Sunday or Thursday block this week. I’m about 4 behind now so I have to lay catch up on that.

    Like

  3. Well done Velda! Congratulations to you! Can’t wait to try out the shortbread on our next quilting mtg!!

    Like

Comments are closed.