Buggies and Beamers

What?…Really?  How Quaint… Where do you find the time for that!…or words of that nature.

Have you heard someone say something like this after finding out you hand-quilt to finish your quilt tops?  If so, does it make you gnash your teeth and snarl like a momma tiger?  Me, well, it  makes me INSANE.  Okay, its possible that I over-react a bit when folks look at me like I’ve pulled up, wearing a bonnet and riding in a buggy, when I tell them that I love to quilt by hand.

About 90% of the quilts I’ve finished over the last 20 years have been hand-quilted by me…and usually include designs I’ve created and drawn freehand as I go along…IMHO that makes my hand quilting Art.

Here are just acuppla examples.

IMG_0740-2
JP’s Very Manly Man Quilt

IMG_0736-2
Green and White Quilt with Black Pearl, the girl cat

IMG_0738-0
Big Sky Stars (an early attempt at “modern”)
For your viewing pleasure, here is the little beauty that is in my hoop right now.  Its over there on my sidebar too and will stay there until its finished…soon…very soon.

IMG_2172

This “petite belle fille” (hubby is Acadian, if you didn’t know) is one of those WIPs that got put away years ago without being finished.  I think I was planning to appliqué some vines and leaves on the outside border, or perhaps enlarge the top a bit more.  But for some reason I didn’t.  I took it out this Spring and put it in the pile of “tops” going to “Quilts for Fort MacMurray” for people who lost their homes in the wildfire.  But somehow at the last minute, I couldn’t let it go, so I folded it up and put it in the closet one more time. But I didn’t forget about it this time.  I put it on my list of Finishes for the 3rd Quarter and OMG this time I’m going to finish it.

And now to pull this whole post into context with reference to the title.

If hand-quilters ride Buggys, then Machine Quilters drive BMWs. FTI I have some drop-dead gorgeous quilts that were finished on long arm quilting machines by amazingly talented Artists (you know who you are), so don’t think I don’t appreciate and drool over the that Art form too.  In fact you should check out this website, and look at Liz Demsey’s portfolio.  It will knock your socks off.

and, that’s all I have to say about that.  Have an awesomely creative day.

 

 

Author: quiltgranny

I am a quilter, a wife, a mom and grandma. I live here on beautiful Prince Edward Island, Canada. Life is good.

1 thought on “Buggies and Beamers”

  1. I’m smiling over here. I don’t have time to hand quilt all the quits I want to piece, but I try to have a hand quilting project on the go (I’m overdue for a new one right now) because it’s such a relaxing and satisfying thing to do and I love the way it looks. You’re right, it’s art! There’s room for the machine quilted art too, of course 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.