GRANNYcanQUILT…that’s me!

Hello, and welcome to my tiny piece of cyberspace.

Lucky me, along with about 55 others, I’m part of the 2016 New Quilt Bloggers Blog Hop. We are hosted by Cheryl at Meadowmist Designs, Yvonne at Quilting Jetgirl, and Stephanie at Late Night Quilter. Way back in the spring,  our hosts divided us into smaller hives and I found myself part of Chery’s tribe.  We call ourselves “Mis-Bee-Hivin’. This is our button.

IMG_1936
The awesome Amista from Hilltop Custom Designs created it. You should check out her blog, you’ll love it.  You should also come back so you can click on the links to check out these great blogs.

Kate @ Smiles from Kate

Jennifer @ Inquiring Quilter

Abigail @ Cut and Alter

Jen @ Faith and Fabric

Emily @ The Darling Dogwood

Susan @ Sevenoaks Street Quilts

Heide @ Heide’s Quilty Hugs

Hannah @ Unsophisticated and Jejune

Ann @ Brown Paws Quilting

Jamie @ Small Town Stitchin

Irene @ Patchwork and Pastry

Jen @ Patterns by Jen

Velda @ GRANNYcanQUILT (that’s me)

Janice @ Color, Creating and Quilting

Miranda @ I have purple hair

Laurel @ Laurel, Poppy and Pine

I gotta say it makes me flinch to talk about myself, so I decided to re-work a  list of “oh-so-sad-but-true” things about me that I posted on another site a while back.  None of this of  has anything to do with quilting;  but I am however confident it will give you a clearer picture of who I am and what I’m all about.

  1. I am writing this post at 1:30 p.m. and I am still wearing my pyjamas…not such a terrible confession, unless you know as I do, that I did not bother to change out of my pyjamas when I took my dogs for a walk this morning.
  2. I am planning to cook dinner and serve it at no later than 4:45 p.m.
  3. Three times already today, I walked into the kitchen and three times I could not remember why, so three times today, so far, I have opened the cupboard and eaten a cookie while standing there, pondering the contents of the pantry.  In my defence, this behaviour is very similar to that of a teenaged boy.
  4. I had the bed made and  the bathrooms by 10:00 a.m. It was the most exciting part of the morning.  ‘Nuff said about how quiet my life is.
  5. I am supposed to take a cholesterol pill daily.  In order to remember if I took it,  I have to say to my husband, as I am taking my pill…”Honey, I took my pill.” Sigh…Is that not the saddest thing you ever read?

Lets just say I am recently retired and enjoy a very laid-back lifestyle. Somedays I think I may actually be getting OLD.  Holy O My Goodness.  How did that happen?

Now on to some other things about me that are actually relevant to the reason for this post.

  • I am a quilter/maker /lover of all things built by a person’s own hand.
  • I have a mother’s pride in every single quilt I have ever made.  Even the wonky weird ones like these. They really are almost like children to me.  If you want to see more, check out this post about my quilty family.
    IMG_0742-2
    Why didn’t I see that line of dark blocks before I sewed this quilt together?
    IMG_0743-2
    Holy Cow…Way too much yellow here
    IMG_0741-2
    These dogs all look like they need a rabies shot.  And where did that blue cat come from?

    IMG_0725-1
    This was supposed to be a “Maple Leaf Quilt”.
  • I have more ideas for quilts percolating in my mind than I can ever make.
  • I blog about quilts and quilting because I cannot, not do so.  Does that make sense?

At the end of the day and every morning, I am Velda, a person who is

  • old enough to have escaped from the workaday  rat-race;
  • young enough to dream about new possibilities, (perhaps a flower farm? or a goat ranch?)
  • o-so-glad to be enjoying a simple fulfilling lifestyle;
  • married to the love of my life;  and
  • comfortable with the person I’m becoming.  I still have a long way to go,  but I really do try to improve myself or make my world a better place in some small way every day.

If you are in the mood to continue reading, I’m pleased to share

A Blogging Tip

Keep a list  of “someday” posts on your Drafts blog page. Lets face it, getting a post started is always the hardest part of the whole process.  I learned that if I have several drafts stored, I can often turn one into a coherent post.  It doesn’t have to be words, it just needs to be something to tweak a memory, or an idea…And you’d be amazed how helpful a photo, or a quote,  or even a random thought an be in getting your fingers flying across the page.

A Quilting Tip

I wrote a post about tips a while back. You can read it if you like. Its called I’m feeling a little bit tipsy this morning! .  Here is an excerpt. Follow the link on the post.  It leads you to a fabulous video that will seriously make your life better on those terrible days when nothing goes together right.

How to use my seam ripper properly (not that I have ever, in my whole life, ever, made a mistake and had to un-sew a block).  This tip is from Sew Kind of Wonderful, which is one of my favourite modern quilt blogs.  Honestly, we all make mistakes sometimes;  and this little video on how to use a seam ripper ROCKS.  Check it out, then do what I did, go rip out a whole seam just for fun in less than 10 seconds.  The adrenaline rush is amazing and you will feel like SuperQuilter…. Seriously, I dare you.

A Question for My Fellow Quilters…

Do you sew?

My answer is always the same…No, I wish I could, but I cannot sew.  I am a Quilter, I can Quilt.  I cannot wrap my head around the idea of pinning a bunch of fragile, virtually transparent pattern sheets on a large piece of expensive yardage, cutting around them (with scissors, not a rotary cutter OMG)  and expecting that something wearable will be the end product.  The whole notion  of notches, darts and zippers gives me the heebee  jeebies. Don’t even get me started on buttonholes or blind hems. I am terrified of the whole process.  I confess to feeling some shame for this obvious failing of of mine, because I know that many of us came to be quilters out of a love of sewing and that there are amazing seamstresses who also quilt, but not me… I’d really like to know am I the only person who feels like this? And could you tell me how to hem my jeans so they don’t look like they were done by my poodle Tigg and his sidekick Odie.

 My Dream Vacation Spot is right where I’m sitting right now.  I am so lucky to be living here on beautiful PEI Canada, about .5 of a kilometre from one of the top 15 beaches in North America, with a backyard that is like a park (no thanks to me,  I am not a gardener, but my hubby is.

IMG_2073 IMG_0654 IMG_0653

img_1954 IMG_0460 IMG_0435 IMG_1249 IMG_0854 IMG_1136

And, finally one random thing about me that you might not have guessed.
I ran a full marathon when I was fifty years old…thats 42.2 kilometres (26.2 miles) of non-stop running for 4 hours and 17 minutes. Yikes.  Even now 10 years later, I smile when I remember how I felt when I crossed that finish line.  I kinda feel the same way now that I’ve finished this post…not really, but a bit anyway!  Thanks for dropping by.  Come back any time.
Author: quiltgranny

I am a quilter, a wife, a mom and grandma. I live here on beautiful Prince Edward Island, Canada. Life is good.

31 thoughts on “GRANNYcanQUILT…that’s me!”

  1. Oh what a great fun post. I so enjoyed reading about your life and your journey, I so laughed at your cookie eating too. I love the quilt with the fun dogs and rabid blue cat, you are so descriptive your writing is a joy to read. I have to go to work now but I’m coming back later to follow all the links through to read more about you and giggle some more.
    Smiles
    Kate

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Fantastic post, so great getting to know you. Your quilts are beautiful and fun…I love this. You are not alone, about the kitchen and forgetting why you went in there….I have done it too many time to count, LOL! Though my cookies are gone due to two teenagers. Beautiful peaceful yard too! Enjoy you week. Hugs, Heide

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sorry I’ll try again. I smiled all the way through this post, Velda, it was great! To be honest I think you’re being too harsh a critic- I liked the strip of black blocks. I think you should tell people it was a purposeful design statement. What a divine spot in the world you live in! It once took me 3 months of working on a pair of pants to get a reasonable fit now I don’t make anything but the easiest of patterns – think pyjama pants

    Liked by 1 person

  4. You have such a great sense of humor! The puppy quilt is adorable, too…and that garden – love! Here’s to many more pajama days in the future.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I love, love, love that you are “comfortable with the person I’m becoming.” Yes! ❤ I am definitely on the "I am a quilter, not a sewer" track with you. I don't even iron anything but my quilts… It was lovely to get to know you better!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I woke up to your post and I skimmed through it on my way to work. I’ve just read it again and I had smiles on my face throughout…I really enjoyed the post and I love your sense of humor. I invested so much in my fashion design dream until quilting happened and I tried to continue my fashion design hopes but I couldn’t stop thinking about Quilting so I chose between the two “loves”. Very nice getting to know more about you and thanks for the tips!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. What a great post! I loved it. I really like you dogs/cat quilt and appreciate your blogging tip. I had kind of started doing something like that and found it to be really helpful. Thank you so much for sharing your sense of humor and a bit about your life!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Your post had me chuckling the whole way through. I can totally relate to the scene of walking into the kitchen, forgetting what I was doing and eating a cookie. I am a quilter, not a sewer (sewist?) as well. Your quilts are wonderful but your observations about them had me laughing.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Velda, I know I’ve said this before, but I LOVE your writing style! I can tell that if you lived closer, we’d be the best of buddies! To answer your question, I DO sew, but not much and not with patterns. Costumes are a good way to get your feet wet because nobody expects them to be perfect!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Oh my your gardens are so beautiful. Mine are weeds. Wish I had a dream place like that to go during the day. I loved your post. I too go into the kitchen and just stand there trying to remember what I wanted to do. Love that you reward yourself with a cookie! I gotta start doing that!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Very fun post! We visited PEI several years ago and plan to return it’s so beautiful! I disagree with you though – there can never be too much yellow! : ) All beautiful projects. Thank you for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Ah hah, another Canadian. Maybe we are all secret writers. I live in the middle more or less, in Ontario. I’m a bit older than you and I’m still working ..looking forward to retiring in 3 years or so. I was lousy at sewing when I was younger but did you know that there are garments you can sew that don’t have buttons, darts or zippers. The scout tee and the Wiksten tank are two such garments. I was pretty much a home ec drop out and if I can make these so can you!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Oh I so understand the whole ‘I am not a sewer’ thing… we have been watching the Great British Sewing Bee and I am just AMAZED at what they can do!! (and by the way, my jeans are hemmed in the most awful way… hopefully my mother will never see it!)
    And thanks for the laughs!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Your post had me chuckling! First of all, I think your quilts want to be as unique as you are. Secondly, all of us Anne of GG fans, love that you live on PEI. Your garden paths are so lovely! I don’t sew much either, although I’ve learned how to put zippers in pouches and add snaps to projects. Buttonholes still scare me to death!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. What a joy to read your post, you make me smile. Guess what, you can use a mat and rotary cutter to cut out clothes. Seriously, best thing to happen for sewing clothes, ever. Not that I have time, or that my daughter wants me sewing clothes for her anymore, lol.

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts and so many beautiful pictures. I have such an issue with coming up with blog post ideas. Even when I sit to just brainstorm ideas. I hope that changes, because I would live to write more. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Loved learning more about you. I have a daughter that would love that yellow quilt. I am glad I am not the only one who walks into the kitchen and forgets what they go in there for. You have a beautiful area where you live. Would love to visit PEI someday.

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Wonderful post Velda! The quilts hanging on the line are scrumptious, such a perfect picture. My aunt and her family are visiting P.E.I. this summer for vacation. A lovely time they will have I am sure. Cheers!

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Hi, Velda! I’m in my 40s and I can’t remember if I took my pills either, so don’t feel too bad. What saves me is those little Days of the Week pill containers that you can get at the pharmacy. If I remembered to take the pill on Wednesday, then the Wednesday compartment is empty! That allows me to save brain power for more important things, like trying to remember where I left my keys!

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Hi, Velda – I really enjoyed your post. I can sew, but I rarely do. I occasionally make stuffed animals for my dogs, and I have made pajamas for my kids when they were little. Making clothing is hard. I like sewing flat things way better.
    I’m also a home-body. My husband loves to travel, but my ideal vacation is unplugging the telephones.

    Like

  20. Hi Velda – little bit late on my Week 3 blog hop but have been away for a few days! What a gorgeous place you live in – can totally understand why it’s your favourite! Lovely to get to know and your quilts better!

    Like

  21. Great introductory post, Velda! I enjoy your humor. Also here’s a tip: When I take my medication for the day, I turn the bottle upside down to set on it’s cover so I can tell at a glance if I’ve taken it and then at bedtime, I turn it right side up. I started out sewing skirts, aprons, dresses, hats, and now prefer quilts but will throw in something else now and then.My old Singer made the best buttonholes–just put the button in the slide and it made the correct length automagically. Sadly the old Singer got to a point that it could never be repaired so now I don’t do buttonholes.

    Like

  22. Hi, Velda! I’m in your hive, too. 🙂

    I’d thought that I’d commented on everybody’s posts for week three, but can’t find them now. So either I am about commenting as you are about pill-taking… or something went ka-flooey!

    I really like your blogging tip, and that’s one I may need to start using.

    Like

  23. Just remember that in some cases, the date when you created the draft is the date that will show as published date when you eventually post it…in my case, on WordPress, I use a sticky post to stick the post to the main page for a few days than revert to a regular post in a few days or when I make my next post, whichever comes first. Or you might be able to schedule a post to resolve this.

    Like

Comments are closed.