3rd Quarter Finish-Along Link-up

Holy Cow. I don’t really have very many unfinished projects hanging around to link up for the 3rd quarter because I cleaned out my cupboards when I sent  a whole schwack  of tops off to “Quilts for Fort MacMurray” in late spring.

But…I do have a couple of tops just barely started and one left over from the 2nd Quarter.

So here we go.  These pictures are possible layouts for my Gene Pool Quilt by Jen Kingwell.  I blogged about it here while I was trying to figure out layouts.

Stay tuned for further posts, or check back with 3rd quarter finishes to see which layout I chose–and if I managed to finish it.

This churn dash beauty is definitely on my list and first up for finishes in this 3rd quarter.  I truly love this little quilt.  I pieced it several years ago based on a pattern in “Quilts for Chocolate Lovers” by Janet Jones Worley.  I thought I’d sent it off in the package of quilt tops for “Quilts for Fort MacMurray”, so imagine my delight when I realized the other day that it is still here in my cupboard.  I hope to put the quilt sandwich together this week and get it into the hoop for some hand quilting love. Stay tuned for a post because I’m going to try something completely different when basting this little lady.  Instead of safety pins, I’m going to use Straight Pins and homemade “pinmores”.  Pictures, etc to follow (and possibly a tutorial, if all goes well)

This quilt is quite small and will look great with simple quilting in the centre and in the churn dashes.  We’ll see about the blue outer border.  Probably I will go with some kind of freehand vines, as that is my go-to border treatment…especially when the quilt is quite linear.

image
Churndashes and Checkers

 

Author: quiltgranny

I am a quilter, a wife, a mom and grandma. I live here on beautiful Prince Edward Island, Canada. Life is good.

6 thoughts on “3rd Quarter Finish-Along Link-up”

  1. I love your gene pool quilt and am intrigued by your new basting technique, I’ve only ever used safety pins or tacking thread and will be back to check on whether there’s a tutorial! Good luck with your list and thank you for participating in the 2016FAL, on behalf of all the hosts!

    Like

Comments are closed.