Quilt-Along with Me

I’m addicted.  Absolutely, completely, totally smitten with this whole idea.  It is so freeing to have no decisions to make and at the end of the day, (or year, or decade) to have another beautiful quilt in my collection.

Be warned though, its really really easy to say “Yes, I’m going to make that” and really really hard to always follow through to the end.  Especially for someone like me, who is like a magpie flitting from one shiny new project to another.  Yikes, OMG, you should just see the UFO’s in my closet…

Twice in my quilting life, so far, I knew the moment I saw a photo, that I had to make the quilt.  The first time was when I saw Sharon McConnell’s Twirling Fans Quilt.  OMG it was so beautiful, I was gobsmacked and awestruck.  Imagine how thrilled I was when I realized I could make my version of the quilt along with her in my first ever QAL.  Here is my finished Ninja Stars.  They could be twins, right?

Then this spring while I was poking around on Pinterest I found pins and pages for quilts by Jen Kingwell. Holy Hannah, I had no words when I first viewed some of her beautiful patterns. I knew the moment I first laid eyes on it that “The Gypsy Wife” was going to be my next project.  I scampered around on the Internet, searching Pinterest, Flikr and Instagram until I found a QAL just starting.  Thank you Hydeeann at Splish, Splash, Stash for all the great planning, photos, first couple months, etc.  Unfortunately this QAL host was unable to continue posting for personal reasons so I followed along with the group through March 2016  and then had to decide to put the half finished top away or tackle the rest of the project on my own.  I decided to continue at my own pace and stumbled along, posting about it a time or two along the way.  I cried a few tears when I thought it might be too complicated, and swore at it more than once…but it’s done, (quilted and bound) and IT IS AMAZING.  Just saying.  Here is a sneak peek, which is all I’m showing because I’m saving it to show at my Kindred Spirits Quilt Show coming up in October.

Last summer I sewed along with Sharon McConnell of Color Girl Quilts  in the  2015 Summer Blockbuster Quilt Along. We made this absolutely lovely quilt using 6″ finished blocks.  Check out the link above to see all the Quilt-Alongs she has hosted.  Awesome, right?

In January, 2016 I committed to making “The Splendid Sampler” with Pat Sloan and a whole crew of other seriously talented designers.  I’m sure most of you have heard of it.  We are a group of about 18,000 (OMG) quilters around the world who are determined, one way or another, to finish this mammoth 100 block project.  I, of course, decided to make two of these quilts.  (WHAT IS WRONG WITH ME? SERIOUSLY!!!) And, without a doubt folks it’s the hardest thing I’ve ever done.  More than once, I thought I cannot do this anymore (probably because many of the blocks are not to my taste, or alternatively, not what I think the proposed owners of the quilts will like, or even what I thought I was signing on for).  But I am going forward, one step at a time.  Currently we are somewhere around Block 40 and scheduled to finish next February, at a pace of two blocks per week.  I like many others decided early on, that I would start setting the blocks as we go, as I cannot imagine having to set two 100-block quilts at the end.  Here is a sneak peek at the settings for these quilts so far.

I decided at the get-go that I would make the blocks I like and substitute the ones I don’t care for, for blocks taken from Tula Pink’s amazing City Sampler – 100 Modern Quilt Blocks  book… BTW, if ever you get the chance, you should buy or borrow, beg or steal this book.  I bought it and its chock full of absolutely ahhhmazing stuff.

And next, beginning in September,  I along with several others in my PEIMQG are planning to take part in another QAL co-hosted by an extraordinarily talented quilter,  mentor and my good friend and fellow PEIMQG member, Jean Mackie.  This QAL is based on Elizabeth Hartman’s “Patchwork City” quilt(s).  I’ve purchased the book and at this point am planning to make the “Downtown” Version of the quilt.

Someone, please save me from myself.  Its clear to me that there are more quilt-alongs out there than I can possibly finish unless I live to be 103!

 

Author: quiltgranny

I am a quilter, a wife, a mom and grandma. I live here on beautiful Prince Edward Island, Canada. Life is good.

4 thoughts on “Quilt-Along with Me”

  1. There is no saving you from yourself hahahaha but look on the bright side you are making amazing stuffs. I purchased Michelle Foster’s delightful star QAL last year but I didn’t even get to make one block! I have the complete booklet now and I totally intend to get to it at some point. It’s good to see I’m not the only one consumed by quilting, it has simply taken over my life but I love it!

    Like

  2. So glad to have you play along with us for Patchwork City by Elizabeth Hartman and for the very kind words Velda. Your Gypsy Wife is a wonder to behold and good on you to have kept going to the end. It is worth every minute you put in on it. Can’t wait to see your Splendid Samplers. Two of them! Now that is crazy talk…

    Like

Comments are closed.