Not your Grandma’s Genes.

I love all of Jen Kingwell’s patterns and designs. They are, without fail,  awesomely, outrageously,  scrappy and most of them are bursting at the seams with very tiny details.  You have to go to Amitie Textiles to see what is happening at her shop…. OMG absolutely amazing, right.

Earlier this year I fell under the spell of “The Gypsy Wife”.  In my opinion that’s a perfect name for this unique quilt. I love it for its riot of amazing colours, its simple blocks and of course, its general disregard for the tried and true ordinary methods of quilt piecing. So very bohemian, so very me wannabe!   I started piecing it along with a group of bold and beautiful quilters in the 2016 Gypsy Wife Quilt Along but couldn’t wait to finish it, so now my version of it is at Blueberry Cove Long Arm Quilting Studio being magically transformed from a slightly wonky quilt top (my pressing problems, not the pattern’s fault)  to an incredible work of art.  Stay tuned for finished pics in another post, or pop over to my Pinterest page and look here to see how it all came together.

Today however,  I’m all about “Gene Pool”.  Its another design and pattern by Jen Kingwell, and OMG I have fallen even deeper into love.  You can find all the details of the pattern over at Amitie Textiles, or by clicking on this little button.

After all the angst that comes with piecing a complex pattern,  it is such a joy to contemplate putting a simple quilt top together.  Gene Pool looks like it fits that bill.  It looks like it should go together almost impossibly smoothly…so naturally there has to be a catch.  Of course there is.  Colour placement is key on this beauty.  Let me show me a bit of what I mean.

After I had cut about 30 “pools” of fabric, I started tossing them up on my wall, expecting to be bowled over by my artistic interpretation of the pattern. That did not happen, nosiree bob it did not.  FYI, I was expecting to have a harmonious blending of greens and blues.Imagine my surprise and horror when I looked at this muddy, disheveled grouping.  Yikes what was I doing wrong.

(Please ignore the other stuff on the wall…I am also involved in a bee block with my PEIMQG and the Splendid Sampler and a Frank Lloyd Wright challenge etc.)

img_1898

I looked at the wall, then at the pattern picture, then back at the wall about a million times before I realized that peaceful effortless effect would take a scientific, careful, precise plan… I was going to have to pull it all down and start over.  Sigh…But on the bright side,  I was going to need MORE NEUTRAL LIGHT COLORED FABRIC.  Yay. Woohoo,   Yippee. Lucky me.

I went shopping at my new favourite Canadian on line shop, Mad About Patchwork, where I purchased this lovely compilation of light neutrally(ish) fabrics.

cropped-img_19281.jpg

Aren’t they just amazing. I am so lucky to have found this place!

I went back to my cutting board and design wall to see what would happen if I added more pools of softer versions of the colour scheme.

img_1946

Here is where I’m at now.  I LOVE IT…but there are still a few darker sections that I will have to break up a bit more and of course, I have to add another 30 or so pools of colour.  I think when its done, I will call this one HOLY HECK HANNAH.

Have yourselves a crazy creative day.

 

Author: quiltgranny

I am a quilter, a wife, a mom and grandma. I live here on beautiful Prince Edward Island, Canada. Life is good.

4 thoughts on “Not your Grandma’s Genes.”

  1. It looks okay doesn’t it…just not the way I wanted it to look. I was looking for something soft and almost faded. The first one is just too much in my face. Thanks for your comment. Perhaps I shouldn’t be so hard on myself.

    Like

  2. I love Gypsy Wife, I just hopped over to Pinterest and had a look, it’s great. I can’t wait to see your finished quilt. I got the pattern a year ago but it’s yet another thing I haven’t started yet.
    Smiles
    Kate

    Like

Comments are closed.