Finished is Better than Perfect.

2016 FAL

Woo Hoo. It’s finally finished.  Here is a link to my Second Quarter 2016 finish-along showing this quilt top as one of the four I hope to finish this quarter.

This is the the same quilt top I couldn’t decide what to do with during the first quarter so I put it away. A couple weeks ago, I decided this would be a perfect quilt-top to use as my very first long arm project. I’m so happy with the way it turned out, but unfortunately after it was done I still couldn’t figure out what to do with it, so I put it away again without binding it.

This morning I actually took it out of the cupboard, laid it on the cutting mat and was going to cut it up and make it into throw pillows…or placemats.  I just so badly wanted it to be completely finished.  Thank goodness inspiration of a sort struck at the very last minute. I would bind it using  a “magic” quilt binding technique which would allow me to machine sew both sides, guaranteeing a fast finish. And sometimes, finished is better than perfect.

I’m so glad I waited, hesitated and procrastinated with this one.   I like it lots now that its bound, washed and dried and sitting temporarily on the chair in my family room. Check out the magic binding.  All things considered I think the corners on this one turned out well.

It is just the right size for a crib or a playpen.  Maybe now that its done, it will find a new home.  Perhaps its another one for the Pediatric Oncology Unit at the QE Hospital in Charlottetown PEI.

Did you finish a project today?  Let me know, send me a picture if you have one.

 

 

Author: quiltgranny

I am a quilter, a wife, a mom and grandma. I live here on beautiful Prince Edward Island, Canada. Life is good.

1 thought on “Finished is Better than Perfect.”

  1. Love the binding with black and white piping. Good for you in getting it done. Glad you procrastinated as it turned out beautifully. Want to know more about your first time machine quilting. Home machine or longarm?

    Like

Comments are closed.