Inspiration and how to make it strike!

I don’t know about anyone else out there in the blogosphere, but I am constantly awestruck and amazed by the quilts I  see on Pinterest and Flickr.  And don’t even get me started on the ridiculously beautiful quilts people are creating and sharing on their websites and blogs.  Holy Heck Hermione, How do you do it?

Seriously I want to know…How do you do it?  And, because most of you are too far away in the real world for me to knock on your door and ask in person,  I decided to spend some time researching on Google. (What did we do before Google? …I can’t even begin to tell you how many spirited discussions have been stopped in their tracks when either I or hubby says “let me google that”.  hehehheh.)  Who knew that Google would be in the marital harmony business.

Anywhoo, IMHO, what it all boils down to are these few things.

  • Be curious about the world you inhabit.  Just look around.  We live on a beautiful sapphire blue ball.  Explore it. Even if you cannot visit places far far away, get to know your own little piece of the earth.   For instance, right now way back in a corner in my yard, the rhubarb is starting to come up.  I saw the first little shoots yesterday.  They are the most astonishing ruby red, ruffly leaves with just a tiniest tinge of green on the stalks, poking out of the earth.  I definitely made a mental picture, so the next time I’m thinking about making an earth-tones quilt, I will have a colour palette to try to match.
  • Better yet, take an actual picture anytime you see something that strikes a creative spark.  Here is an example.  This picture was taken at a local gift shop last year.  The colours just jump out at me and will definitely show up someday soon in a quilt.
  • Look at ordinary things in extra-ordinary ways.  This is what many of the most amazing modern quilt artists do.  They look at traditional works of art and say “what if…” A good example of this: Our PEIMQG is currently planning a “based on Frank Lloyd Wright” mini-quilt challenge.  I can’t even begin to imagine all the beautiful art quilts will come from that.  Pinterest is full of pictures of very linear windows and doors that will translate beautifully into quilt blocks. I have a plan in place. Stay tuned for some pics at a later date
  • Write it down, or draw a little sketch when you get an idea.  You know this, I know you do. Take  a few seconds and write down, or make a little diagram,  of any quilty ideas you have.  Even if you don’t have time to flesh them out fully right this second, there will come a day when you are looking for something to make and that little note you jotted down may make a prize winning quilt.
  • Like everything, creativity does come easier with practice.  So its up to you.  Practice being creative.  Let you imagination soar.  You don’t always need to purchase a pattern, or find some gorgeously perfect fabric on line to make your next project.  Make do…make changes…make it your own.

Whatdaya think?  Let me know what you do to open your creative eye. I’d love to hear from you.

 

 

 

,

 

Author: quiltgranny

I am a quilter, a wife, a mom and grandma. I live here on beautiful Prince Edward Island, Canada. Life is good.

2 thoughts on “Inspiration and how to make it strike!”

  1. But being creative is exhausting! An hour being free spirited and creative is as tiring as 5 hours of pattern cutting and piecing. That’s what I know! And I take pictures as I love patterns. Ceiling tiles, wooden fences, stone monuments and anything that repeats catch my eye.

    Like

  2. i know! I love finding patterns in unexpected places. My daughter took me to a shop in Calgary that was full of old doors, windows, etc. from overseas. I took soooooo many pictures. Hey I may write a post about that…thanks for the creative nudge.

    Like

Comments are closed.