Who do you love?

Most of us know certain things.  As a “ferinstance” today I know…

  • my favourite season is…fall on PEI
  • my favourite colour is green…anything green, any shade
  • my favourite dessert is … my mom’s raspberry pie
  • my favourite beach is… Blooming Point
  • my favourite critter is … well you get my point

But how many of us have sat down and thought about who their favourite quilt designer or fabric designer is?  I had not given it much attention until I decided to write this post.

Back in the ’90s when I first started quilting, my hands down, never fail, favourite designer was Lynette Jensen.  Nobody ever made more beautifully simple, big, colourful quilts than her.  You could make one of her quilts in a weekend!  I betcha almost everybody has a “Thimbleberries” inspired quilt in their closet. I still pull out one of her books, when I’m looking for a simple house or a quick tree block. But times and people change, which is of course a very good thing.

The next quilt designer I obsessed over was Nancy Martin.  Scrappy Quilts are so beautiful and IMHO, “That Patchwork Place” produced some of the best scrap-attack quilts ever. Back in the day, almost every trip to the Strathcona County Library in Sherwood Park, AB saw me bringing home one or two or more of those “Patchwork” books.  Many of my earlier quilts are inspired by blocks I drooled over in one of her books.

But… more recently I find myself drawn towards designers who take those traditional blocks I love and change them up in some way that makes them brand new again.  There are two designers in particular whose blogs and websites I visit regularly.  They are…

I have quilts in my collection that were inspired by both of these designers.  In fact the first Quilt-Along I ever participated in was hosted by Sharon McConnell.  OMG, I made this quilt with her before she even published the pattern so it was all very free form and it turned out simply awesome.  She called her pattern Twirling Fans.  I call mine “Ninja Stars”.  Check it out below.  They look like twins.  Imitation is of course, the sincerest form of flattery.

IMG_0718-0

Its a dresdan plate pattern folks. Very very old school really, your grandma probably had one on her “spare room” bed… but here it is, all modernized and simplified so anyone (even me) can make it.  You gotta love that.

The same can be said for the sisters who design and sew at Sew Kind of Wonderful.  They have designed two amazing, easy to use tools to make curved piecing easy and stress free.  While many of their designs are very modern, their quick curve ruler makes piecing blocks like my favourite traditional “improved nine patch” soooooo much easier.  I made it here. image

I guess if I had to choose what designer is my current favourite, its a tie between these two.  I have followed Color Girl Quilts longer tho and she inspires me with her colour choices and really simple but complex looking creations.

Let me know where you get your inspiration and who you love.  Have yourselves an astonishingly creative day.

P.S.  Today I get to hang out with my favourite sister quilters…what a bunch of pansies… at my house.  Lucky me.  I’ll tell you all about it another day.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author: quiltgranny

I am a quilter, a wife, a mom and grandma. I live here on beautiful Prince Edward Island, Canada. Life is good.