I’m feeling a little bit tipsy this morning!

Yikes, that sounds like I’ve been doing shots of tequila and its only 7:22 in the morning here on PEI. (Although in my defence, this is the first day of daylight-savings-time, so it really feels like 6:22, but I digress).

I’m not drinking, what I am doing is thinking about the gazillions of  brilliant ideas that creative folks do to make  unhappy quilting situations better.

So with no further ado, here are five of my besties.

  1.  How to use my seam ripper properly (not that I have ever, in my whole life, ever, made a mistake and had to un-sew a block).  This tip is from Sew Kind of Wonderful, which is one of my favourite modern quilt blogs.  Honestly, we all make mistakes sometimes;  and this little video on how to use a seam ripper ROCKS.  Check it out, then do what I did, go rip out a whole seam just for fun in less than 10 seconds.  You will feel like SuperQuilter…. Seriously, I dare you.  Then come back here for tip 2.
  2. Pressing pinwheel and other bulky block intersections.  I don’t know about you, but I suffer from severe block envy when I see all those perfectly flat blocks that many quilters are posting daily on The Splendid Sampler  Facebook site. So naturally I went looking to see if I could learn the secret to their success.  Joan from Winging It! has one answer and its brilliant. Try it next time you are in the mood to make this versatile block.    I am also sewing along on the The Gypsy Wife 2016 Quilt-Along over at SplishSplashStash  and very soon, I will need to make 23 trillion of these pin-wheel cutie pies.  This tip will make everything much happier for me.
  3. OMG my rotary cutter blade is dull as a stump and I don’t have a spare on hand.  Relax, chill, and read this post from Penny’s Hands.  Now take yourself into the kitchen, grab that tinfoil (that’s what we call it here on PEI), follow Penny’s instructions carefully, then continue gleefully cutting those strips.  Be aware though this tip won’t work if your blade was nicked because you accidentally dropped it on the floor a thousand times without the safety cover on…which I would never ever do.  Nosiree Bob, not me.
  4. Measure Twice, Cut Once…My husband is a killer wood worker and his best advice (which I’m sharing here, completely without his permission)  is Measure Twice, Cut Once.  WELL, that sounds so simple doesn’t it.  Why don’t I just do it!
  5. Help Mom, how do I do this?  When you are looking for advice and your momma is not close by, (or like me, she is close by, but not a quilter) you should go here for the  Best advice ever for quilters. I found 67 great tips right there and now they are all at your fingertips too.  You are so welcome!

Have an insanely creative and beautiful day.

Quilt Granny (aka Velda from PEI)

 

 

Author: quiltgranny

I am a quilter, a wife, a mom and grandma. I live here on beautiful Prince Edward Island, Canada. Life is good.

2 thoughts on “I’m feeling a little bit tipsy this morning!”

  1. Velda- gave a perfectly awesome sewing day! Would love to be at home with my cutting board- alas I am at work!! Great tips you are passing along 🙂

    Like

  2. Those are some great tips! I can see myself trying the aluminum foil tip for my rotary cutter. I buy spare blades every single time I go to the fabric store, but somehow I always run out anyway… Wait…that must mean, that I don’t go to the fabric store often enough!!

    Like

Comments are closed.