All-Aboard the Basting Train.

So I’m sitting here at my computer at 6:35 a.m. on Tuesday, March 8, 2016…because the dogs are waking up really really early these days.  I think its because the light is starting to come in the windows around 5:30 a.m.  Who really knows what wakes up a couple of big dogs early in the morning?  Not me, AND if you do, please tell me so I can fix it.  I’m an early riser, just not this early, but it is nearly impossible to ignore Odie’s huge poodle head hitting my pillow repeatedly, or, when I don’t respond fast enough, his wet nose banging me on the forehead or the eyes…and once in a while when I do manage to nod off, his sure fire, guaranteed, never fail method to get me out of my bed is to stomp (I kid you not, he stamps his feet) over to the bedroom door and start making retching sounds.  He doesn’t really puke, he just makes the noise.  Guaranteed I will be out of my bed and letting him outside within 3.2 seconds…I think he may have housetrained me.  That’s Odie sitting on the couch…Why does he sit with his big beige butt on the couch and his feet on the floor? Because he thinks he’s a person and that’s how we sit isn’t it?

Anywhoo, now that I’m up,  here’s what I think.

I need to start basting another quilt sandwich soon.  Boo Hiss. Because OMIGAWD I hate, hate, hate pin basting a  quilt sandwich.  I had a great system when we lived in Alberta, which included masking tape and carpet on the family room floor, but here on PEI we have ceramic tile or laminate floors everywhere in our house so my knees and back tell me thats a non-starter.  Thank goodness for Pinterest.  AND Thank Goodness for crafty minded folks, otherwise I would never have learned how to baste a quilt using a couple of 1×3 boards and the dining room table.  Check  out the method Color Me Quilty   uses. I used this approach to baste my Super Summer Sampler and it worked great.  I highly recommend it.  In fact, you should come over to my house and try it, using my quilt, my boards and my dining room table!!!

 

Author: quiltgranny

I am a quilter, a wife, a mom and grandma. I live here on beautiful Prince Edward Island, Canada. Life is good.

5 thoughts on “All-Aboard the Basting Train.”

  1. Oh wow… having dogs means geting up the same time as when you have little kids!! I sympathize with the basting. I hate basting. Absolutely hate it. You’ll be happy once it’s done…. I’m out of batting right now, so I am excused 😉

    Like

  2. Thanks for the wonderful advice on sandwiching! It’s not my favorite part of the process either. Think I’ll give this method a try.

    Like

Comments are closed.