Just thinking and planning..

 

I don’t know about anyone else who is planning their year around “The Splendid Sampler” blocks on Thursdays and Sundays, but I am really excited to see what the setting(s) for the blocks will look like when we are all done.  Last summer I did a 6″ block sampler  hosted by Sharon McConnell at Color Girl Quilts. Hers was called  Super Summer Blockbuster 2015 and below is a photo of my finished quilt. Almost identical right?  I know imitation is the sincerest form of flattery but…

this time I want to stretch my wings a bit and make this quilt entirely my own, so I am already auditioning settings in my notebook.

FYI, I am in the middle of  a love affair with the settings used in  Amite’s “The Gypsy Wife”sampler…Can you imagine making a quilt this fabulous? Holy Heck !!! it’s stunning.  And, how about Tula Pink’s  “The City Sampler” as put together by Kim on her blog, Persimmon Dreams.  Both are simply amazing and awe-inspiring right?

So the question of the day is…Should I design a modern(ish) setting myself? or will I wait to see what is offered by the Splendid Sampler designers?  I DON’T THINK I CAN WAIT…Stay tuned, I’ve got my notebook and crayons out and a plan forming in my head.

BTW,  for some reason technology and I are having issues loading these two pics here.  So check out Block 3 and Block 4 of the Splendid Sampler over there on my sidebar, or see them on Instagram at Grannycanquilt.

 

 

Author: quiltgranny

I am a quilter, a wife, a mom and grandma. I live here on beautiful Prince Edward Island, Canada. Life is good.

1 thought on “Just thinking and planning..”

Comments are closed.