I feel like I should be singing…99 bottles of beer on the wall,

So, I said to myself, I’m not going to be one of those people who post a picture of every block on Instagram or Facebook and I’m certainly not going to blog about it. But…..I was wrong…apparently I am going to do that… sometimes… and I cannot help myself with this first block.

FYI, if you don’t already know, I’ve signed up to complete the “Splendid Sampler” online.  Its a huge, free,  year-long,  sew-along that will give me 100- 6 1/2″ blocks sewn into a sampler quilt when its all over.  The party started yesterday.  For the next 52 weeks we will receive instructions for 2 blocks, with the exception of Xmas week and one other week.

But the reason I’m writing about it here, is that there are many things that we will be asked to do when constructing these blocks including appliqué, paper piecing, english paper piecing, hexies, etc.  I have very strong feelings about some of these things, especially appliqué and hexes having tried both before and have never been happy with the results.

So imagine how ambivalent I was, when the first block out of the gate was an appliquéd heart. But not to worry, I proceeded to work my plan…prepare appliqué blocks with wool or felt, because there is almost no preparation and the blocks go together rapidly.  IMHO the block did go together well.  Here it is Block One of the Splendid Sampler, Heart’s A-flutter.

IMG_1440

But the really exciting thing is that while I was looking at other folk’s blocks, I read about a method of appliqué which I had never tried before… It’s called back basting and  here is a link to the tutorial by Joan Ford of Winging it. This my friends, is what this sew-along is actually about, trying new things, or old things in new ways,  if you’d rather think about it that way.

So with no further ado, here is my block that I made earlier today following this technique.

IMG_1450

Though not quite perfect, it is I think perfectly respectable for the first ever – no template, needle turn appliqué method.  CHECK OUT THAT POODLE IN THE MIDDLE OF THE HEART. ISN’T THAT JUST TOO CUTE FOR WORDS.  I’M CALLING IT.  “I LOVE POODLES”.

Now I have to go.  Ron just picked up the mail and there is a box for me from Connecting Threads…Yea!

 

Author: quiltgranny

I am a quilter, a wife, a mom and grandma. I live here on beautiful Prince Edward Island, Canada. Life is good.

2 thoughts on “I feel like I should be singing…99 bottles of beer on the wall,”

Comments are closed.