The Splendid Sampler 

Yup, I did it again.   

I decided to join “The Splendid Sampler”  sew-along online, hosted by Pat Sloan and  Jane Davidson, both huge quilting legends, with the help of about a gazillion amazing quilt designers.  OMG, this is a such a huge commitment… but I am very excited for it to get started.  

The sampler quilt includes 100 blocks (o-my-freakin-GAWD) to be made over the course of a year. Two blocks per week for one whole year–excluding Christmas week and one other week.  It officially starts on Valentine’s Day, but already we’ve been given couple little bonus projects to get us in the mood to sew.  First we were given a sample block pattern to make .  Like all the rest, this is a block which finishes at 6″.  Is it just me, or is this just  as cute as a button?

  

 Then we were given a “tute” for a mini block-pressing mat and block keeper using our sample block.  Here is mine.  It is somewhat different from the original pattern because I didn’t have any ribbons for closure so I had to make a little fabric tie; and, I decided to use two layers of batting rather than three as suggested.  Here is a link for turning a narrow fabric tube right side out if you are interested. It was a godsend for me. 

   
 This is what my block keeper looks like closed.  Check out the pocket  with the 6″ square ruler tucked into it and the little tie closure. As always my photography skills leave something to be desired…sigh. 

This quilt will include lots of applique, embroidery, paper piecing and English Paper Piecing, all on adorable little 6″ blocks.  FYI I’ve already decided there will be no hexie blocks in my future. 

Who besides me thinks I may be crazy to think I can keep up with this group. 

Author: quiltgranny

I am a quilter, a wife, a mom and grandma. I live here on beautiful Prince Edward Island, Canada. Life is good.

2 thoughts on “The Splendid Sampler ”

  1. Definitely think you have way too much time on your hands!! LOL Have fun and can’t wait to see the outcome! 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.