Things that go bump in the night

How many of us, I wonder, give any thought to what goes on in our homes while we are asleep. Not me for sure UNTIL last night, when I had one of those nights when sleep was elusive. I went to bed around 10:00 p.m. and slept like a rock until exactly 11:23 p.m. when I opened my eyes and looked at the clock.  I tried unsuccessfully several times to go back to sleep but was woken up by: 1) doggie dreams about 11:40 p.m..  Apparently Mr. Tigg likes to bark,  chase rabbits and tree squirrels in his sleep based on the way he was yapping and twitching.  2) Odie,  just being restless from 12:00 to 1:30 approximately.  Perhaps like me, sleep was elusive for him, or he just couldn’t find a comfortable position.  Not surprising, based on the position I found him in.

 

image

Sorry folks, modest he ain’t.

We have a very energy efficient home with in floor heating, which is very quiet, so you would be amazed at how very loud the silence is when you are laying in bed listening to it at 2:00 a.m. IPads tinging and pinging, water pipes tinging and pinging in the walls, the house alarm blipping every 10 minutes or so, the wind moving through the treess.  It’s amazing we ever get to sleep at all.  But, I digress…

Finally about 2:10 I decided a nice cup of herbal tea might help me back to dreamland, so up I got…naturally the dogs got up too and wanted to go outside.  You would be amazed at how invigorating the outside air is in the middle of the night when you are standing on the front step, clad just in your PJ’s  calling the dogs to come in. Nope, the tea clearly was not going to work.

So I did what I always do when I am looking for a distraction and something to calm my restless mind.  I wandered into my sewing room and looked at my design wall where I’ve got almost 4 rows of border whirligigs laid out for my medallion quilt.  Only 18 more to go and I am finished.

Sew…you know what happened next don’t you.  Yup, I started sorting through fabric to find eye-pleasing combos.  Before I knew it the tea was quite cold, the dogs were sleeping on the sewing room floor and the clock said 4:30 a.m and the only thing going bump in the night was my iron as I was pressing all those beautiful little 4 1/2 inch blocks.

And finally just after 4:30 a.m. I was ready to crawl back into bed, curl up beside my hubby and nod off until 8:30 a.m.

IMG_1350.jpg

I feel great this morning.  Hope you do too.

 

Author: quiltgranny

I am a quilter, a wife, a mom and grandma. I live here on beautiful Prince Edward Island, Canada. Life is good.

1 thought on “Things that go bump in the night”

Comments are closed.