Whirlygigs – a Picto-Toot

I don’t know if I ever said this before, but I love Whirlygigs.  They are just like pinwheels but not quite so pointy, and perhaps a bit more complicated to make…depending on your point of view re HST’s.

Here’s the thing about whirligigs;  most patterns require a template to make the “gigs” or arms.  I don’t like using templates, so wherever possible I try to find a make-do method. Thank goodness for Pinterest.

Because I really couldn’t face the tedium of making 72 4 1/2″ pinwheels (or 288 HSTs) for my Avatrix Medallion quilt, I decided to try  to figure out a way to make whirlygigs without a template.

There are lots of tutorials on Pinterest that promise whirlygigs  with no templates, some of which I tried this morning but quickly abandoned because there was too much trimming and waste involved.  But….this method would work, if I tweaked it just a bit.  So this is what I did.

   

  

  

  

  

 

 

 

 

 

And, there you have it.  2 beautiful (although I only took a picture of one of them) whirligig blocks, each 4 1/2″ square.  Its a beautiful thing.

Come back soon and I will show you a picture of this beauty with the last pieced border on it…Should only take a lifetime. Sigh.

 

 

Author: quiltgranny

I am a quilter, a wife, a mom and grandma. I live here on beautiful Prince Edward Island, Canada. Life is good.

3 thoughts on “Whirlygigs – a Picto-Toot”

  1. It’s a great tutorial, I just needed the first part to make the whirlygigs for my Avatrix medallion quilt…and I actually cut the rectangles at 2 1/2 x 3 1/8, but probably most folks would prefer to cut a bit bigger and trim a smudge more of each block.

    Like

Comments are closed.