All Hail the Pansy Sisters.

No, we are not a 50’s family gospel singing group…although IMHO it would be a great name.

In light of what we have taken on, our little group of 5 like minded quilters must now become more than friends…we are sisters in *@#*%. Here is what happened.

Last night at our monthly Kindred Spirits Quilt Guild meeting, the President was giving us all a much needed talking to about contributing to our joint cause…it turns out our guild of 75+ members does not currently have a vice-president; or a person in charge of our largest annual fund raising project;  or a person or persons to plan our bi-annual quilt show.  Holy Heck Huckleberry Hound, this is not good.

The five of us were sitting in the back row (except Judy, who was smart enough to sit far far away) listening, and feeling a tiny bit guilty about not participating more, when I looked at Joyce and said…You should do it…meaning she should become the new Vice-President, she said NO:NO:NO, then Selina looked at her and whispered “we will help you”.   Nancy, very wisely,  sat there between them saying nothing…. so not knowing exactly what they were talking about (dang my deaf ears) I said “yes of course I will help”.  The next thing I knew Selina had her hand up in the air waving excitedly (Selina is the most outgoing one in our group).  The President acknowledged her and she said “the Pansies will do it”.  For some reason I thought we were volunteering as a group to be the vice-president!  Never mind what I thought, I was wrong.  We had in fact actually volunteered to be in charge of the 2016 raffle quilt, which is a very worthy project and one which the whole group of us can get behind and take on easily.

But, the evening was not over, Nosiree Bob, it was not.  There were still two other very necessary positions to be filled.  By now the bunch of us were all whispering madly among ourselves except Judy, who is sitting on the other side of the aisle, looking at Selina and mouthing… “this is what happens when you have friends”….Thankfully, she was joking, because we need her expertise and know she will do everything possible to make our project successful.

But… I am still sitting in my chair thinking Joyce would be a great vice-president and still encouraging her to take this task on.  She continues to say NO:NO;NO.

By now the President has moved on to whether or not we will have a quilt show this fall because we don’t have anyone to coordinate it. Next thing I knew Joyce was nudging me whispering urgently “we can do this together” and there I was waving my hand in the air.  Yes to make this long story short, Joyce and I agreed to jointly take on coordinating the quilt show.  I can only pray that we have not bitten off more than we can chew.

Stay tuned because who knows what will happen next.

Author: quiltgranny

I am a quilter, a wife, a mom and grandma. I live here on beautiful Prince Edward Island, Canada. Life is good.

1 thought on “All Hail the Pansy Sisters.”

Comments are closed.