Two Things – totally unrelated

Thing No. 1

After about a million years, I finally found the way to cook a roast beef perfectly.  No thermometers, no stress, no fuss, no mess, NO FREAKIN KIDDING.  Now don’t get me wrong, I didn’t invent this method, I simply followed the directions on a Facebook page.  Yikes…Am I Crazy…etc. etc. etc.  I admit to being very skeptical but IT WORKS.

Here is what you do.  Take your roast out of the refrigerator and leave it on the counter to come to room temperature (unless you have two very large, always hungry, poodle dogs); in that case, put it in the microwave where its safe from any predators.

I chose a smallish, cheapish  1.15 kg sirloin tip roast.  It was approx. $13 at the old Coop in North Rustico.  Here is all you do to make the most fabulous perfect medium rare roast you will ever set before your family.

  • Turn the oven on to 500 degrees.
  • Confirm the roast weight.  Mine was 1.15 kg, or 2.54 lbs
  • In a small bowl, drizzle 1-2 T of extra virgin olive oil (EVOO)
  • Add a generous amount of your favourite spices to the oil (excluding salt if you choose Montreal Steak Spice (MSS) or anything like that,  because there is enough salt in that)  I used MSS, garlic paste, lots of cracked pepper, paprika and a bit of cayenne. USE WHAT YOU USUALLY USE to season the roast.
  • Put the roast, fat side up, into a shallow open pan.  I used a glass pie plate.
  • Rub this paste all over your roast really well.
  • Chop 1 medium onion into wedges or whatever shape you like.
  • Place roast in pie plate, surround it with the onions and any left over rub/paste along with another little drizzle of EVOO to the pan. Do NOT put a cover on the pan.
  • When the oven is ready, and not one second before, open the oven quickly and pop the roast in.  Close the oven door immediately.

The magic happens next. You cook the roast at 500 degrees for:

  • 5 minutes per pound for rare
  • 6 minutes per pound for medium rare/medium
  • 7 minutes per pound for well done (don’t ever cook your roast well done)

and then turn the oven off completely and let the roast sit in the hot oven for two (2) hours.  Do NOT open the oven door during this period because you don’t want to lose any of the heat inside.

I set the oven cooking time for 13 minutes because I wanted it rare.  Yes, thats correct.  I cooked it for only 13 minutes,  I turned the oven on at 3:10 and turned it off at 3:23 and that was it.  Except to take it out of the oven about 5-10 minutes before serving, so it can settle.

Here is what it looks like — not an actual photo of my roast because we were too hungry to wait for pretty photography to occur — but really quite close.

IMG_1180

Looks yummy doesn’t it. Now imagine it with a greek salad , rosemary gravy and green beans from my garden.  Delish.

Thing No. 2

My Avatrix Medallion quilt top has turned up.  You cannot imagine how excited I am…and you may have seen it on my 2016 finish along mosaic.  I was pleased to see that the third border was indeed exactly half finished.

On Monday, I popped it back up on the design wall.  Here it is.  So bold and bright and pretty.IMG_1146

Before you could blink, I was digging around in my fat quarter cupboard, pulling out possible fabrics to make the remaining 11 blocks in this border.  I decided to make each block separately, rather than to try to strip piece a whole bunch at once.  This is because I really really have difficulty making that many choices at once.  Here it is with 3 borders done.

IMG_1179.JPG

and here it is this morning with all 4 sides of this pieced border added. I think its sideways, so the final border, is actually the left side border on this pic.

IMG_1182

Onward now to the solid border that comes next…and then the rest of the 6 borders.

FYI, I’m calling this one Katie Lucy…

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author: quiltgranny

I am a quilter, a wife, a mom and grandma. I live here on beautiful Prince Edward Island, Canada. Life is good.