Old Dog, new Trick…

Its all about my new favourite thing, which combines so well with my old favourite thing.

New Thing:  Wool Applique

Old Thing:  Quilting

See what I mean.  They go together like cookies and milk, or perhaps dark chocolate and red wine (another new favourite thing, but I digress).  Today we are talking about how wonderful wool appliqué looks on quilts.  Adding a wool appliqué border almost guarantees that your ordinarily lovely quilt top will be transformed into a thing of beauty…with almost no effort on your part.

Seriously if you can cut out a basic shape from freezer paper, iron it onto a scrap of wool and cut it out, you have already mastered the basics of wool appliqué.

This form of appliqué absolutely inspires me, because I can get from the picture in my head, to the quilt block in almost no time at all.  For example, yesterday about 4:00 p.m. I wandered into my sewing room, with a  plan in my head to make a block on my new appliqué quilt.  According to my plan, the block had to be 6 1/2 by 12 1/2.  It took only a few few minutes of searching on Pinterest (wool appliqué ideas) to find a photo that inspired me.  THANK YOU TO ALL OF THE AMAZING ARTISTS OUT THERE IN THE PINTERVERSE who post their photos.

  • By 4:10 I had a rough drawing on freezer paper
  • By 4:13 I had chosen a scrap of fabric a bit larger than 6 1/2 by 12 1/2 for my background
  • By 4:30 I had cut out 3 leaves and 3 stems for the flowers
  • By 4:35 I had cut out the vase sections
  • By 4:55 I had cut out the flower shapes.

Thats less than an hour folks…Remember there is virtually no prep work needed for wool applique, other than spraying the edges with a adhesive sealer of some kind to ensure they don’t fray and you probably don’t even have to do that if your project will be a wall hanging or a pillow.

All there is left to do is appliqué the pieces to the background.   I always use appliqué pins to hold everything in place, but I’ve heard of folks using a stapler to do this part.  After I’m satisfied with the arrangement, I decide what to sew first, second, etc., as there is definitely an order of things.

In this case, I sewed

  • the stems on first (note to self, spend a bit more time reading tutorials on different methods to sewing on stems) – 30 minutes
  • then the leaves were applied – 30 minutes
  • the top of the vase – 10 minutes
  • the base of the vase – 15 minutes
  • the flowers – picky little devils if I do say so myself  *look for simple shapes for the first few projects.  These were simple, but had lots of curves which are somehow difficult to manoeuvre. – 60 minutes

And just like that the block was finished, except for pressing and squaring up (which I will do before I add the block to the quilt top).  Seriously the whole thing was finished before SURVIVOR 2nd CHANCES started at 9:00 p.m.

I know that adds up to 5 hours, which many of you will say is not a quick way to make a 6 1/2 by 12 1/2 block, but it is certainly quicker than doing a needle turn appliqué block.  AND…I took a two hour break in the middle for supper, walking the dogs, reading e-mails, etc.

O, here is a picture of my finished block.

IMG_0935 (1)

 

IMHO, its beautiful.

And, it just goes to show you that any old dog can learn a new trick, if she wants to….just saying.

 

 

 

 

Author: quiltgranny

I am a quilter, a wife, a mom and grandma. I live here on beautiful Prince Edward Island, Canada. Life is good.

1 thought on “Old Dog, new Trick…”

Comments are closed.