Virtual Cookie Exchange Blog Hop

I’m sitting here at my computer drooling about all the possibilities for deliciousness in the near future because I am part of a VIRTUAL COOKIE EXCHANGE BLOG HOP.

Besides me, today’s bloggers and their delicious recipes are Karen at SugarFreee Quilts,  Colette at What About Rheema?, Carla at Creatin’ In The Sticks;  Mary Ellen at That’s My Home.

Yesterday’s goodies are from Kris at Kris Loves Fabric, Selina at Selina Quilts, Karen at KaHolly, and Deonn at 3rd Degree Bakery.

Tomorrow we get some great receipes from Beth at One Old Goat and Her Farm; Carol at Just Sew Quilter; Theresa at Bumbleberry Stitches and Brenda at Brenda’s Blog.

Finally, we get to share recipes with Linda at Food Storage Moms; Susan at Super Mom – No Cape, Kathy at Just Quilt it; and last but not least our host… Carol who blogs from  Just Let Me Quilt.

I plan to make at least one recipe I see every day while this blog-hop is going on.  The great part is when I’m done…so is my Christmas Baking.  Iffffffff I can keep my husband’s sweet tooth away from the results for a few days.

BTW a question…When do you officially start eating the Christmas Baking at your house?

Here is the rule at our house.  I start baking on December 1 and hide everything away.  This year, of course, because I get to be part of this blog hop, I started a day or two early.  I always  put out the first Christmas Baking on a pretty seasonal plate to be enjoyed by everyone who shows up to help decorate the tree, which is usually the first Sunday in December,  This year decorating is scheduled for December 6.  I cannot wait.

Here’s another question…How much Christmas decorating is too much?  At our house, unless we are completely over the top, we are not done.  We have (and this is not an exaggeration), approximately 40 poinsettias sitting patiently in the garage, waiting to be revealed, several dozen spruce and pine boughs we collected from the woodlot at my childhood home (because really they smell better than any others in the world) giving off their woodsy wonderful fragrance, Also reposing in our garage is a pile of beautiful white birch, which may make it into some DIY crafts for last minute gifts, (so easy to drill a few holes in a birch log, stick some red candles in the holes and loop a bit of evergreen around) or they may simply be piled in the fireplace and burned throughout the Christmas season.

I am a quilter, so there are also Christmas quilts a-plenty throughout the house.  I thought I’d share a few little ones I’ve made through the years.  Oddly enough I’m not making any new quilts this year (so far) so would love to live vicariously through photos of yours.  Check mine out below.

IMG_0785IMG_0783IMG_0782

And now with no further ado, here is my receipe for super easy, super cute, super delicious shortbread bites.  I found this recipe on Pinterest and swear by it for maximum Christmas appeal.

Shortbread Bites

Ingredients:

1 1/4 C all purpose flour

3 T sugar

1/2 C butter cubed (no substitutions please)

3-4 T Sprinkles red and green, or silver, or whatever colour your Christmas theme is.

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees F.
  2. In food processor, with the blade attached, pulse flour and sugar until combined.  Add the cold butter and pulse until dough begins to come together.
  3. Place dough in a bowl and gently knead in the sprinkles until you think it looks good.  Be careful though, a little sometimes goes a long way.
  4. On lightly floured wax paper pat dough out to approximately an 8 x 5 inch rectangle.  Do your best to make it as even as possible.  Place the rectangle in the freezer for about 15 minutes.
  5. Cut semi-frozen rectangle into 1/2 inch squares and place about 1 inch apart on a cookie sheet lined with wax paper.
  6. Pop into the oven and bake for about 12-15 minutes.  Watch like a hawk near the end because you don’t want them to get brown.
  7. Hide them from your family in the freezer for up to 3 months, or pile them up prettily and eat them right away.

Here is another picture of their delicious cuteness and a link to the Pinterest post I found hereIMG_0789

Author: quiltgranny

I am a quilter, a wife, a mom and grandma. I live here on beautiful Prince Edward Island, Canada. Life is good.

19 thoughts on “Virtual Cookie Exchange Blog Hop”

  1. Very nice that I could hide them in my freezer, but I’m not sure those bites of yumminess would last very long in there. I like eating frozen cookies! As for when I start eating the Christmas goodies…as soon as they are cool enough to eat that’s when! :O) And, there can never be too much decorating going on and I bet your house looks amazing with all the Christmas items and sweet quilts on display! Thanks for sharing your recipe!

    Like

  2. Wi love shortbread! Thanks for the recipe! Your Christmas pretties will certainly brighten up your house for the holidays.

    Like

  3. Yum, those shortbread bites look good! How nice that you can freeze them until you want to bake. 🙂 I love your quilts–thanks for sharing those too! I used to decorate a lot more until we had young grandchildren. Now that all-out business will have to wait until they are older, but I can live with that. 🙂

    Like

  4. I can’t wait to try this. I love any shortbread and this looks so easy. Keeping it in the freezer is just what I do. I just pop one at a time out and eat it!!!

    Like

  5. Hi, Velda! So nice to meet you on this virtual cookie hop! OK, it appears that shortbread is the cookie of the season – nutty, chocolatey, rolled in sugar, rolled in powdered sugar, rolled in nuts with a dollop of jelly, and now these little sprinkled bits of goodness (saw the pic on your pinterest link). I must try these! We started our holiday baking on the Sunday after Thanksgiving, and we don’t stop until Christmas. From the sounds of things, your house is going to be a Christmas wonderland!

    Like

  6. I love shortbread cookies, so these should be a real treat. Gosh, you are really busy decorating at your home. Our decorating is minimal since our kids live so far away. We will have our daughter home for Christmas along with one of her friends. That does mean a fresh-cut Christmas tree and large Christmas dinner. As you will see on my day, my granddaughters did much of my baking at Thanksgiving time. With 2 cataract surgeries this month, I’m not doing as much as usual, but I look forward to seeing better!

    Like

  7. Your shortbread recipe sounds super quick and easy.

    I love your Christmas quilts.

    To answer your questions… I try to keep everyone out of the Christmas baking until the week before Christmas… not that I’m successful in doing that but I try… lol.

    As for how much Christmas decorating is too much… Christmas time is the one time of year when I go all out and decorate. On years when we lived in a house with a living room and a family room, both rooms got trees and other decorations. So I say, decorate to your heart’s content!

    Like

  8. I love shortbread cookies and this looks like the easiest recipe I’ve ever seen. Need to make a batch and need to break in my new tea pot to go with them. YUM
    Also love your quilted Christmas pieces.

    Like

  9. I love shortbread and will be trying this recipe. Good luck keeping your husband out of the cookies! Mine has figured out all of my hiding places so if I really want to keep cookies away, I have to bring them to work with me. I love all of your Christmas quilts!! I love to see other people’s decorations especially when they decorate a lot. When I set out all of my Santas and trees, it just looks cluttered. That said, no amount of decoration is too much in my book!

    Like

  10. I vote for pile them up and eat them! LOL Look yummy. Thanks for sharing your great pinterest find. Have a Merry Christmas.

    Like

Comments are closed.