Another quilt that I love

…and it was away easier to piece and quilt than I expected it would be.  BONUS!!!

IMG_1430

This quilt (I call it Pineapples and Oranges) was created from a pattern in a quilt magazine, probably American Patchwork and Quilting, but I really cannot remember now.  I chose to make this one because I Ioved the colours and the way the pattern tricked my eye into seeing circles.  I really really love quilt blocks that look complicated, but don’t require special tools or really any advanced skills to build.  This one definitely fits the bill.

It is also really special to me because it was small enough to fold up and push into a big suitcase and haul across Canada back in 2006 when my father was very very ill.  I remember spending several evenings in March 2006, sitting with him and my mom and various brothers/sisters, hand quilting that quilt, not talking, just being present with dad as he transitioned from being my vital strong father to a frail human being preparing to start his final journey .  It was such an emotional time, and even to this day, every time I look at this quit, I see my whole family in those circles and the quilt is a reminder of all the precious people who form my family circle.

I hope this quilt brings out some emotion in everyone who sees it.

Author: quiltgranny

I am a quilter, a wife, a mom and grandma. I live here on beautiful Prince Edward Island, Canada. Life is good.